Some people say that the main environmental problem is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about whether the main environmental problem is the loss of certain plant and animal species or other problems. While the extinction of animals and plants can be alarming, I believe that other issues within the environment are more significant.

On the one hand, the disappearance of some flora and fauna may have an impact on life on earth. The ecosystem on our planet maintains a delicate natural balance that can be easily disrupted. For example, food chains are biological phenomena in which organisms feed over each other in a sequential manner. When a creature in this chain is gone, the whole sequence fails, resulting in an accumulation of other harmful creatures that were otherwise eaten. Thus, many people are convinced that the vanishing of certain organisms is the principal crisis facing our habitat.

On the other hand, many significant dilemmas should be considered regarding the environment. For instance, global warming -which is the rise of climatic temperatures- creates many problems. To name a few, the thawing of ice at the Arctics causes the sea level to rise leading to floods. Damage to crops also caused by the raised heat is an issue that might eventually produce a famine somewhere on earth. So, I believe that obstacles like global warming should be prioritized over species extinction.

In conclusion, there are various points of view concerning problems in the environment. The loss of some flora and fauna is one of the important dilemmas, but global warming is much more prominent in our habitat.