Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

it is undeniable that music is a good method to bring people from different cultures and ages together. this essay will delineate my opinion with valid explanation as well as examples about this statement.

On the one hand, people may share the taste of music with each other. The melody, rhythm of one song is fixed for every listener in either different cultures or ages. Consequently, people from each nation can understand the meaning of lyrics in the same way. For instance, my Danish friend and I both share the same favorite singer, which is Charlie puth, a famous from America. Even though we neither meet each other frequently nor come from the same nation, our conversation is endless because we always talk about the songs of Charlie puth. Hence, music is a form of communication and maintaining relationship with each other.

On the other hand, music can sometimes be irrelevant. Today, in music industry, there is no definition of “filtration”. it is true that these days, music can be released at any time without filtering for its content and language. there are many cases that the lyrics of the songs lead to misunderstanding and offence. A perfect illustration for this is Kanye West, a famous singer wrote a song with explicit content and showed an offence directly to another singer, Taylor Swift. His song had awoken a whole community and became the most controversial topic by the time. As a result, there were two separate society, one went for Taylor and one for Kanye. Thus, music can possibly not be the best way to make people understand other cultures and ages.

To conclude with the statement, I can strongly state that music is a double-edged sword as it can and cannot be the favorable way to bring people together.