Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Learning a foreign language has been a must in the present era of increasing globalization. Some people opine that learning a foreign language indicates the reason for travel or work abroad whereas other view it more broadly. This essay delves both the aspects and conclude with a concrete personal opinion.

First and foremost, learning a foreign language has been an added advantage to the people all around the globe. The world has become a smaller place and the advancement in the technology and increased access to internet has brought people all round the world within a limit. The more individual can communicate, the more he increases the chances to compete in the global arena, leaving a majority behind. And, to my personal experience neither national or nor international organizations prefers the candidates with profound capability of only a mother tongue.

On the other hand, the prime concern regarding learning a foreign language has been either work or study abroad. The learning of the foreign language has much more than just fulfilling the personal desire and physical needs i.e. money. The more languages we learn, helps us acquire the proportionate knowledge of culture, tradition and history of that community or nation as a whole. Needless to say, language is the basic of any civilization and all the history of the human race is commingled with the language.

To sum up, learning a foreign language has a far more advantages than just migration or abroad studies. Although the primary objective being migration and studies, there are much more advantages like acquiring knowledge of dispersed human civilization and communication with an international friend-zone.