Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel or to work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In this modern society, integration has become one of the most popular trends and it exerts a huge impact on our daily lives in all aspects. Therefore, being able to use a foreign language is of great necessity, since it would enable them to work or study in another country. As a consequence, many people think this is the only reason why we should learn a foreign language, while others think the opposite. This essay will look into both sides of the argument and finally point out why I side with the latter.

To begin with, there is no doubt that studying or working abroad has been the main motivation which urges many people to learn a new language, especially English. In simpler terms, the mastery of such language ensures the ability to communicate and interact with other people in that country, and as a result, lead to a better working or studying experience. Should anyone be unable to talk that foreign language, they would be completely isolated and the precious opportunity will be totally wasted. What is more, people who are bilingual are also likely to achieve better results in their life, since they can learn more from a wide range of materials on the Internet, even though they are written in another language.

On the other hand, there are many other purposes that people learn a foreign language for. To many learners, it is because they want to explore and get to know more about the culture and language of a specific country. Take English for example, many people don't have the chance to settle in the UK or America, but it is still the most popular language with billions of learners. This is because they want to understand the Western culture better, or simply, to understand the lyrics of a favorite song. What is more, learning a foreign language helps you broaden your horizons and expand your circle of friends. People will be able to make new friends all over the world, and discuss things which they never happen to experience before in their life.

To sum up, although many people decide to learn a foreign language for the purpose of personal development, I hold the belief that there are still many other reasons why we should do so, especially when it comes to finding out more about the outer world. Consequently, learning a foreign language is likely to be of great importance to anyone in this modern world, not only those who will move to work or study in another country.