Some people say that to prevent illness and disease, governments should focus more on reducing environmental pollution and housing problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often believed that the authorities ought to implement rules and regulations so that environmental pollution and housing problems can be reduced, which might result in the prevention of illness and disease. I vehemently accord with the given statement and in this essay will discuss the reasons behind my agreement.

To begin with, Pollutions are responsible for a number of diseases nowadays. To elucidate further, these are responsible not only for life-threatening illnesses, such as cancer but also for reducing average life expectancy. For instance, an article publish by - The Times - in the UK in 2015, revealed that the number of cancer patients is a whopping 65% higher than it was before 2010. Therefore, it is undeniable that governments should play an essential role in order to decrease the emission of greenhouse gases.

Is there any other reason behind my agreement ? Certainly, there is. In terms of the prevention of illness and disease, governments should make an effort to diminish housing problems as these are responsible for a higher rate of illness. To decipher this, these may lead to the building of myriad slums thus the environment and water will be polluted which will produce viruses of different kinds of diseases, resulting in a Large number of sick people. for example, most mosquito-borne diseases are directly or indirectly linked to slums as they are responsible for creating a favourable environment for them. Hence, the authorities should take effective measures in terms of curbing this growing trend.

In conclusion, In spite of having the fact that there are several other reasons for the growing figure of sick masses, pollution and housing problems are the most prominent ones because they are responsible for a plethora of sicknesses. Nevertheless, the government should take necessary steps in order to reduce pollution as well as build houses to provide accommodation to people who live in slums and streets.