Some people say that sports play an important role in society. Others, however, think that it is nothing more than a leisure activity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have differing opinions on the value of sports in society. Some people regard sports solely as a recreational activity, while others argue that sports play an important role in society. From my perspective,sports would be an essential part of lives with significant positive influences.

Many individuals consider sports to be a method to spend leisure time with friends and family. It is believed that the importance of sports today is exaggerated, and that sports should only be treated as lighthearted fun among friends. In the real world, there are other occupations such as doctors, engineers, and lawyers that are more valuable. As a result, the attention that sports and athletes receive should be diverted to these other professions that truly benefit society. Furthermore, they do not consider any sports to be worthy of being pursued as a profession because they see it as nothing more than a recreational activity.

However, more and more people are recognizing the importance of sports in society. It is undeniable that exercising sports at a young age helps to instill a sense of competition and work ethic. Team sports, in particular, aid in the development of teamwork and cooperation among teammates, which is a valuable skill that will benefit an individual in the long run. Furthermore, sports serve to improve a community's overall health and fitness. For example, because of the country's emphasis on sports, proud sporting nations such as New Zealand have a healthy and fit population. In addition, sports serve as a means of uniting the masses in a country and instilling patriotism in the populace. During a world tournament, such as the FIFA World Cup, people of all ethnicities and races come together to celebrate a win. Watching and participating in sports can also support you to relieve stress and improve your mental health. These positive effects of sports on society attest to the importance of sports in society, despite the fact that some people continue to dismiss their importance.