Some people say that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is a number of people which hold the view that there should be fixed punishment for each type of crime, whilst, others believe that particular circumstances of individual illegal actions, and motivations of commitment, should always be taken into account by the court.

Those who agree with the opinion that the legal system should provide fixed punishment for each type of crime present a number of points in favour of their point of view. For instance, such changes in legislation will eradicate one of the most widespread issues that every court have to encounter with. There are situations which law could not regulate in case of the specific circumstances of each particular context. In legislation this moments are called “white spaces” and, obviously, legal system have to spend time to illuminate mistakes in laws. Therefore, fixed punishment for every type of crime would alleviate court arguments and reduce time costs.

On the other hand, those who disagree with the view mentioned above provide their respective reasons as well. To start with, if the legal system have fixed punishment, there exist at least one reason that only exacerbate situation with fundamental principles of legislation. There is a range of possible illegal activities in every type of crime that starts from the less harmful and finish the most harmful for society. There could be a million different ways to create one fixed punishment for this range but, unfortunately, in each case courts would encounter with cases that not serious enough for this punitive measure or, vice versa, too cruel for it.

To conclude this essay it should be mentioned that I am convinced that fixed punishment should not be taken into account in legislation despite all possible advantages of this decision.