Some people store personal and private information online, including banking, contacts and addresses. Is it a positive or negative trend?

Most things in our daily lives have been digitized ranging from the most common information like items’ sales to personal information such as finance, locations, and acquaintance details. This trend has created a conflict within many communities, in which they believe that the private and covert details are not to be released on the Internet. As those who are opposed to the idea suggest that it is for the sake of their conveniences. From my perspective, I regard this matter as negative since cyber-assailants have become more popular and they seem to attack and steal the crucial bits.

To begin with, whatever appears on the Internet can then be possessed by another without the initial owner’s permission. For example, this mostly happens with news and knowledge information. Individuals aim to plagiarize these because they wish to improve aspects such as reputation and recognition on the platform because they can therefore gain some money paid by the advertisers or based on the site click counts. However, this is far much worse when it comes to personal information. Such information can be considered priceless to anyone whose it belongs to, and the data can be hacked then sold on the market as if it were a common product. Yet, much worse scenarios can occur. For instance, one’s bank account can go empty in a moment as it has now been shared by many or once the address is leaked, he is possibly blackmailed in exchange for money.

It is not the drawbacks of publishing secret and private data to the Internet matter but it is the users themselves who are to blame. This trend only proves the fact that man has become much too dependent on the Internet and hence becoming insecure. They lack the awareness and the expectations that something negative may arise. Or it is as if mankind has become more dilatory and lazy to inspect the relevant dangers surrounding them. Take online banking for example. We post our credit card details on online shopping web pages because it is more convenient to complete transactions. However, giving that someday these e-commercials pages go bankrupt and one’s information is now ubiquitous on the Internet. Even though some are aware and acknowledge such a possible outcome, they are still reluctant to travel outside to buy or complete their orders and use online those services instead.

In general, from such a trend, not only we can recognize the bad sides of what was first intended to be useful, benevolent, and user-friendly, but also discover the degradation in terms of our tendency towards leading a healthy life.