Some people store personal and private information online, including banking, contacts and addresses. Is it a positive or negative trend?

In recent years, thanks to the outburst of technology, the Internet has become the private information stockpile for a number of people. This information may include banking accounts, contacts and addresses. From my perspective, it may have both pros and cons for numerous reasons.

On the one hand, it is apparent that storing personal information online means saving more time. In the past, a huge number of people chose to write their passwords or identification numbers in a notebook, they would have to expend more effort to take these notes with them and check where they recorded this information. While nowadays, cloud archiving services provide users with a great capacity to save their data, with a single mobile phone, they could access their personal info anywhere and anytime. It especially benefits those who have a bad ability to memorize their information.

On the other hand, storing sensitive information is considered a risk of illegal identity disclosure. As there is still an enormous number of holes in cybersecurity, hackers could easily access and leak out our private data, such as bank accounts or personal emails. As a result, the criminals may steal victims’ money or sell their digital information to third parties, which may lead to victims’ loss of honour or dignity. Apparently, it is a fact that more and more accidents are resulting from victims who failed to overcome embarrassment.

To summarize, it is undoubted that cyberspace is a potential choice for clients to consume its cloud archiving services. However, users still have to consider its negative side as privacy risks are not solved yet.