Some people think all lawbreakers should be put into prison, while others believe that there are better alternatives. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Imposing prison sentences is widely accepted in many places around the world. While imprisonment is considered the common way to punish criminals, I believe that other more effective solutions should be considered as well.

On the one hand, some people would argue that the prison sentences have a critically important role to play as a deterrent to the prospective criminals and habitual offenders. This is because by confining those who committed serious crime in an extremely small area and taking away their freedom to meet families, the law enforcement departments punish them with pain both psychologically and physically. As a result, those who intend to receive bribes or abuse animals will weigh the cost carefully.

On the other hand, some people believe that in order to reform criminals, community service and educational causes can act as alternatives. Firstly, community service can make offenders, especially those who committed minor crimes, law-abiding citizens. They can learn how to act as meaningful members of society by cleaning street, removing graffiti and tending gardens, and realize that they can contribute to society. If they are sentenced to prison, they they will mix with other criminals and probably make friends with them. They will not repent or take stock of their lives, so they may reoffend after being released, which can pose a threat to the public. Secondly, vocational training can teach them interpersonal skills and job skills. As a result, crime will not be an option if they know how to make a living.

In conclusion, even though harsh penalty such as prison sentences can as a deterrent, I believe that we still should focusing on changing the behavior of offenders and helping them function as productive members of society.