Some people think all lawbreakers should be put into prison, while others believe that there are better alternatives. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Imposing sentences is widely accepted as a method to punish those who commit serious offence and sometimes as a correctional method. Although prison sentence is a useful way to educate criminals, I would argue the community service can play a more important role in publishing offenders.

Some people are advocated of prison sentence because they may think it has a deterrent effect on either prospective offenders or habitual offenders. Prison sentence means that those who violate laws will lose freedom for a period of time; a consequence is that no rational person is willing to take. The criminal record can have a lasting impact on their lives including their career. They will not commit crimes when they realise the problems that ensure, instead, they will choose to find work or run a small business to earn a living. This can help create a peaceful and safe community.

Others believe that some other measures like providing educational opportunities and vocational trainings can also help to improve their interpersonal skills and job skills. It is worth noting that many juvenile offenders or first-time offenders broke the law because of a lack of social experience or low socio-economic status. Crime is no longer an option, if they can find work and understand legal responsibilities. The prison can isolate criminals from society, shattering their confidence in finding work and reintegrating into society.

In my opinion, we can consider community services as better alternatives. This punishment can make some offenders, especially those who committed minor crimes, law-abiding citizens. They can learn how to act as meaningful members of community by cleaning streets, removing graffiti and tending gardens, and realise that they can contribute to society. If they are sentenced to prison, they will possibly make friends with other offenders. They will not repent or take stock of their lives. So they may reoffend after being released, which can pose a threat to other members of society.