Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about all students should learn the syllabus relating to science and technology which give them many benefits in the future. While some people disagree with the idea, I believe that they had better have freedom to choose what they are interested to study in university.

The option to force students to study subjects according to regulation is beneficial for several reasons. Firstly, studying compulsory subjects such as maths or physics is helpful for their mental health and improve their thinking more practically. then they can solve real problems in life in a logic way. Secondly, a developed country needs modern technology. A workforce with comprehensive knowledge and expreriences is necessary to actualize this issue. Therefore, these people should be ones who are trained from university. For example, an astronaut must know well about space and science so the knowledge of physics and geography is really needed.

On the other hand, it seems to me that despite scientists and engineers are vital for a state, artists such as musicians and poems might have to balance the society. From this perpectives, students should study whaterver they want and follow their dream, live a life meaningfully instead become workers for office. This would increase the HPI- Happy Planet Index in some bored country like America. Furthermore, students also have human rights, they are mature enough to decide what is the most suitable for them and take responsibility by their own for what they do. Studying is just one of several decisions they have to make in life. The final point I want to opine that people usually tend to be more effective in passion. Doing what they like make them happy and this boostes the productivity higher.

In conclusion, although students should be oriented to learn what would be beneficial for them in the future but it still has its own pros and cons. I would argue that freedom in learning is better in university.