Some people think that economic development is the only way to end world poverty and hunger, while others argue that economic development is damaging the environment and need to stop. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Whether economic development should be deemed as a way of poverty relief or deterioration of the environment has evolved as a heated contentious topic in some societal gatherings. Despite the arguments expressing the substantial role of economic development in poverty tackling and hunger, I am more convinced the environmental degradation should be taken into consideration.

To commence with, those who place a great emphasis on economic progression for poverty relief point to the significance of employment prospects, resulting to reduce the possibility of people's joblessness. This may mean that economic progression is woven tightly with economic vitality in all societies, meaning that the more society develops economically, the more people are affluent. A good illustration of this is clearly delineated by Japan eradicating poverty through economic development after World War II. Increasing economic vitality, therefore, in itself, is bound to be a key factor in eliminating poverty and hunger throughout the world.

Turning to the environmental outlook, it seems environmental degradation can be categorized to be of first importance when it comes to the effect of economic development. Simply put, the cornerstone of economic development is highly likely to lay the foundation for erecting new infrastructures such as factories and firms, requiring more human activities. In such situations, the argument goes that more activities human engage, the more damaging pollutant particle they emit, thereby impinging damage on the biosphere. Take contaminated rainwater run-off as an example; such water enters the water cycle, through transferring by water tables into aquifers, stream and rivers while water remained tainted for so long. this, in turn, has a profoundly deleterious gave impact on the environment by poisoning drinking water and drought.

To conclude, while acknowledging the crucial role of economic development in eliminating poverty, I would embrace that its side-effects are considerably destructive on the biosphere owing to pollutant particles emitting on the atmosphere.