Some people think that everyone has the right to have access to university education and that government should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is true that ever intensified competition among individuals has been encouraging people to put more value on tertiary education. Some people argue that governments should provide free university education to all citizens. While I understand such action is reasonable to some extent, I tend to disagree with the opinion.

Admittedly, providing free tertiary education to all students possesses some advantages. To begin with, it narrows down the social and financial gap between the rich and the poor. Through providing an equal educational opportunity to every student, those who are from an impoverished family could expect to change their living conditions by finding a promising job, which reduces their gaps with other people. In addition, allowing students to acquire free education promotes the economic development. As universities are more capable of imparting professional and practical skills to students than high-school education, the number of capable workers in the labour market will tremendously increase, thereby stimulating the economic growth.

Despite the above merits, I believe free education is disadvantaged altogether. First of all, it impedes the development of some industrial sectors such as manufacture industry and agriculture sector. Because the public funds are largely allocated to support educational industry, other sectors may lose their driving forces to develop. Moreover, students may take the opportunities for study for granted if the high-level education is free to them. One piece of research conducted in India reveals that more than 20% of Indians do not cherish the opportunity to go to university because of the free education.

In conclusion, although free education may provide some positive consequences to both individuals and society, I am in support of the idea that it should not be free for everyone.