Some people think that it is best to live in a horizontal city while others think of a vertical city. Discuss both views and give your opinion

These day, as urbanization process, the number of people who have city lives is increasing. Although, many people love living in urban area, others prefer settling down in countryside. Personally, I enjoy having a simple life in vertical city as opposed to horizontal one.

On the one hand, living in a big city is very convenient and interesting due to several reasons. Firstly, a domination of complex facilities should be taken into account. Because of their convenience, people can save their time and expenses more. For instance, citizens can shop and entertain in the same building instead of having to travel far between two places. Secondly, by making the most of skyscrapers, the land area for road and public facilities is widened more. As a consequence, traffic congestions rarely occur and the nature space is maintained. Moreover, vertical cities usually are headquarters of big companies or financial centers. Thus, urban residents have greater chance to have well-paid jobs.

On the other hand, several people who are friend of quiet and peace, choose a certain horizontal city for themselves to enjoy their lives. The most advantage of this choice is that people can get on with nature at the same time escape from hustles and bustles. Because the small population lives in a large area, most of houses have a garden or lawn where they can plant flower and enjoy their hobbies. Furthermore, living lower to the ground is safer for inhabitants when emergencies occur. For example, if a fire starts in the home, they can quickly escape from the dangerous areas because the building is not too high off the ground and it won’t take much time to leave.

In conclusion, while living in a vertical city does have some benefits, it seems to me that the advantages of life in a city with tranquility makes living in a horizontal city the better choice.