Some people think that the museums and art galleries should concentrate on the history and art of their own country rather than the works of art of other parts of the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Historical and art exhibitions play a vital role in increasing the public’s comprehensive knowledge. However, whether museums and art galleries should focus on the local history and art or display the international works has caused heated debate. I agree that the local art and historical works can promote great patriotism but we should not ignore the importance of other countries’ art and history.

Promoting domestic art and historical works is crucial in nurturing patriotism. All kinds of local works represented in museums or art galleries recreate the chronological flow and cultural values of one nation, which can help the residents build the connection with their native cultures. Gaining knowledge from these works, thus, ensures the public’s love and pride for their country. For example, the War Remnants Museum in Ho Chi Minh City has a series of rooms with military equipment and photographs depicting war crimes and the people’s sufferings, which enhance the audiences’ empathy and appreciation fore their motherland as well as the communities.

It is also true that the significance of international works should not be underestimated. The global historical art works allow the public to acquire proper understanding about different countries’ political and social issues as well as their distinct cultures, which is a crucial factor in fostering globalization. In fact, apart from French historical art works, the Louvre museum in Paris also exhibits an array of foreign works from European to Egyptian, which attracts millions of visitors all around the world each year coming here to peak their curiosity, broaden their horizons, and apparently supports the international relations.

In conclusion, local and international historical and art works are equally important. Beside the nation historical and art values, museum and galleries should also represent that of other countries, so that the public can enlarge their knowledge in both national and international history, political and social issues.