Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

In recent decades, traffic problems have been receiving a great deal of public attention due to their substantial impact on human life. Although some argue that using severe punishment can prevent traffic accidents, I agree with those who believe that there are several others which would be benefits for transportation.

There are a number of reasons why strict punishments are supposed as the key to diminishing traffic accidents. First, these can act as a deterrent and influence the behaviors for driving offenses. In fact, in order to avoid being punished commuters have to control their private vehicles carefully and obey the regulations. Second, by imposing the severe fine on traffic offenses, the government can raise money to invest in transport infrastructure. For instance, people who are likely to break the traffic laws such as driving while intoxicated or exceeding the speed limit often made to pay financial penalties.

However, it is undeniable that other road safety measures also play an integral part to protect human life. First, educating adolescents about the traffic law at a young age, especially before getting driving licenses, can lessen the pressure on traffic. As consequences, they will become law-abiding citizens who obviously understand the danger of traffic infringement. In addition, other effective methods like installing speed cameras, appointing traffic warden also ensure that vehicles only adhere to the right way. Finally, in order to calm the traffic, local authorities can upgrade and expand public transport provision.

In conclusion, not only strict punishments but other measures also can be considered as the important tools to control the increasing rate of traffic accidents. Hence, the government should balance and use them in an effective way.