Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer.

What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

Universities nowadays play a major role in societies as it provides them with the educated, knowledgeable manpower. In the next few paragraphs we are going to discuss the true function of any given university, the type of information they ought to provide for their students until graduation and why I think that the true function of universities should be a mixture of both preparation for work, and preparation for universities’ own benefit.

The first thing we are going to talk about is why some people think that universities must be the main provider of all the data and skills needed for work life. Firstly, for students, university is the main and most authentic source of information, for instance, a graduate is highly dependent on the data collected during his study period in university when he starts a new job. Secondly, for communities it would be optimum if all students graduate with the sufficient skills required for their jobs, e.g.: graduates will be productive in their jobs and thus help the nourishment of societies. Thirdly, for companies, this would save the lots of effort, such as: the time needed for training graduates and helping them adapt to the work environment will be much less than usual.

On the other hand, some argue that universities need to offer data only for its own good and that can be due to several reasons. Firstly, universities should only be concerned with their own staff and must allow data access to them, e.g.: they need to allow data for their researchers in order to help universities rank higher. Secondly, preparing undergraduates for work life is a very time-consuming process, for instance, it would need much more study hours. Thirdly, this process requires more manpower and effort which universities can’t handle because most of their personnel are concerned with their research and lectures.

From my point of view, I think universities need to divide their effort and time between preparing undergraduates for work life and rising up with their staff’s level of knowledge, because this is the way for the greatest benefit for both a university and a society, e.g.: we would not only have qualified calibers for companies but also for universities.

All in all, the precedent has been a discussion of whether the true function of universities should be to provide skills for graduates to work with or to allow data only for its own benefit and why I think it should be a mixture of both of them.