Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer.

What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

Nowadays, an increasing number of people are concerned about our recent universities' purposes. It is believed that graduates should be equipped with the skills and knowledge about their workplace. However, there is an opinion that universities must focus on training students for it own sake and choose the best program for students' future career.from my perspective, I partly agree with those two viewpoints due to some following reasons.

To begin with, it is obvious that preparation for the future job is fundamental for each student. Every students need to get experience before reaching a long-term job. This means that they need to learn as much as possible before the start working. For example, students in learning business management need to practise and be close to their workplace in order to approach to their working surrounding. Therefore it would be extremely beneficial for their future job, for, they can apply those experiences into their life. This shows that a degree that prepares student for the working environment is more advantageous than a degree for purpose of knowledge.

On the other hand, such research work which aim to dig deeper into a specific subject need to have academic courses during university time. For instance, psychology is an academic subject that need to be taught and the knowledge from this subject can help is to understand and treat people well. This means that it is not depent on practising but it is about studying and researching as well.

To sum up, this is a well-balanced problem and the universities must take purposes into consideration carefully before set up a curriculum for students.