Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online.

Is this a positive or negative development?

Taking for granted that internet has become an integral part of human life, and we are becoming increasingly dependent on it. Accordingly, the conventional process of teaching and learning has changed into online courses by several universities. In my opinion, I believe that this is a positive trend since it encompasses a wide range of benefits.

Firstly, the cost of the online course could be free of charge. To enumerate, many universities offer online courses in different fields, such as science, mathematics, literature, and language with a payment. Therefore, a substantial proportion of people, who cannot afford the high tuitions fees of prestigious universities, have a chance to be educated and literate. Secondly, by virtue of online course, students can study in a flexible way. They can switch between part time or full time and set their own pace throughout the course. As a result, not only does the online course associate with saving time, but it also contributes to studying in a convenient way.

Notwithstanding the merits of online course, the demerits cannot be overlooked. One of the main drawbacks is the lack of human interaction, for the distant learning classes could be merely a video, which leads to less interpersonal communication. Moreover, by studying remotely, computers screens will cause detriment to health. For example, the light of light screen damages the eyes due to sitting for a long time in the front of it. Consequently, distant learning is more likely to have an adverse impact, such as less direct interaction.

In conclusion, while online courses of some universities have undoubted advantages, of which the cost is the most apparent, they have a significant drawback as well, most notably less communication. Hence, I think that this is a positive development.