Some universities offer online courses as an alternative to classes delivered on campus. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Online learning has been a hot topic recently. It is used by some colleges to replace classes. As far as I am concerned, this trend has both positive and negative impacts on students as well as the education system.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that online courses bring students a lot of benefits. First and foremost, distance learning allows pupils to study at flexible times and choose the most convenient study places for them. It can be explained by the fact that some students have lots of essential classes at the same time, so it is incredibly impossible for them to attend all the lectures. In some circumstances like these, pupils can choose online courses as the option to assist them solve this problem effectively. Not only does it help students to study whenever they are free but it also offers them more time to handle other vital work. Secondly, pupils can learn one lesson many times thanks to the records of online lectures. In case they do not understand some points of the lesson, they can review it by watching the videos.

On the other hand, there are some drawbacks of online courses that people should take into consideration. The primary rationale is that online learning includes no human contact during the lectures, which means that students just only interact with the computer or mobile phone when they study. If a student has some questions or a new idea about the lessons, there is no one to explain it to them. Meanwhiles, in terms of classes, teachers can guide them to deal with their problems in the most accurate way, which helps students be likely to acquire knowledge quickly and effectively. Furthermore, these online courses are made by relying on a fixed process, so they may not be suitable for some kinds of students, especially those who do not have self-study ability. These students need to be guided carefully with particular advice from teachers and study under supervision, which online courses can not provide.

In conclusion, the current trend of online learning is progressively increasing. As discussed in the essay, I would contend that the merits of this trend can be outweighed by its limitations, and teachers still play a vital role in teaching programs.