Students should pay the full cost for their own study because university education benefits individuals rather than society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that tuition fees should be covered by individual students in lieu of all the residents of the community. There are good arguments both for and against this view, but I believe it depends on different reasons.

I completely concur with the idea that the government should be culpable for the costs of education. The first prominent justification is that the subsidies for education incline to support significantly underprivileged students. As a matter of fact, not everyone has the capacity to afford all the costs of tuition, which means that without being supported, poor but aspiring students fail to approach academic doors. Only when education for low-income children is a matter of concern, the quality of the workforce will be driven up, and thus, lead to the improvement of productivity. Besides, the grant for education not only stimulates the ability of poor students yet also relieves the financial burden on parents. Consequently, they have more budget for medical and healthcare purposes for their children.

Nevertheless, I believe that subsidizing education causes a series of demerits. Firstly, the policy for supporting education decreases the budget for other vital sectors, including economics, environment as well as national defense. It is universally acknowledged that the budget is finite while the demands for all aspects are infinite. Furthermore, from the perspective of taxpayers, funding for education places a heavy burden on the residents who do not directly reap the benefits from education such as childless people. Last but not least, subsidies lead students to take their education for granted, which means that students are less likely to have the motivation to excel, and thus, not consider more lucrative investments rather than higher education.

In conclusion, while reasons can be given to justify that society should take responsibility for the costs of education, I believe these personal benefits should not impose the burden on the whole of the community.