There has been a dramatic growth in the number of people studying at universities in the last few decades. While some people see this as a positive trend which raises the general level of education within the community, others fear that it is lowering the quality of education.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of the increase in student numbers at university?

Over the last century, tertiary education has become available to numerous people than ever before. Although this can be beneficial for individuals and for society as a whole, some people argue that the growth in student numbers is having a negative impact on the standard of education.

The worldwide expansion of tertiary education has been a positive trend for those involved. It has enabled more people to realise their capabilities, gain a qualification and pursue a career that interests them. Furthermore, jobs that require a tertiary education are often well-paid and thus allow those people to enjoy a higher quality of life. This in turn assists to raise the standard of living of society through economic growth.

However, the growing availability of further education also has some drawbacks. A growth in student numbers has at times led to much larger classes. As a result, students are less likely to experience difficulties due to the lack of the attention by their teachers. There is an evidence that this may cause a drop in standards, and even could make it easier for students to pass; therefore, universities are in danger of being seen as “degree factories” in which the quantity of students rates as high as the quality of education.

In conclusion, a university education can be a significant and positive step in a person’s life and should therefore be available to everyone. However, universities will need to ensure that the quality of education delivered is not compromised by the growth in student numbers.