Today the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold.

To what extent do you agree with these views?

Thanks to media like TV, the Internet or newspapers, people can update an enormous amount of information per day, so more and more companies use commercials as a significant marketing tool for consumer goods. It is widely believed that advertising, not the real needs of consumers, leads to the popularity of a product. I strongly agree with this opinion for the following reasons.

First of all, under various circumstances, influential advertisements manipulate people to buy something that they do not need. It is common that some industries or companies use the image of famous stars or entertainment celebrities to drag consumes since their images have huge impacts on buyers, especially on their fans. For example, according to a statistic, the number of consumers buying a shampoo product from DC company increased at least three times after David Beckham, a famous footballer, participates in that commercial advertisement. This result can be explained by a simple fact which is an enormous number of his fans who want to be like him or just it is a way to express their support to their idol buy this product.

Secondly, advertising promotes the sales of products by providing the necessary information to potential consumers through the means of media, mainly TV and the Internet, with massive coverage. Besides, everyone can see the advertisement almost everywhere, which would help them to know more especially about their desirable goods. For instance, whenever people type some keywords about a product on the Google, the commercial about this product will appear automatically in the next websites opening. This is a smart connection, but the hidden meaning beside is commercial and profit. This connection is built based on customer psychology which is customers tend to buy a product if they have received the photos of that product frequently for a long time.

In conclusion, I believe that advertising is the essential factor in boosting the sales of a product, even it overcomes the real needs of the society. Thanks to advertising, producers can bring their goods to the customers, and the buyers have more opportunities to choose a suitable product. However, it has also many disadvantages, so customers should think carefully and have a wise decision before purchasing a product.