The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many

people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that the appearance of advanced technology has largely influenced our lives, especially social media. Some people strongly believe that they can easily use social media to keep in touch with people that they know. However, others object that using social media causes some negative aspects in daily life. From my personal perspective, the disadvantages of using social media outweigh the benefits overall.

It is clear that there are several negative aspects of using social media in society. Firstly, social media discourages real interaction. In fact, when people spend much more time on using social media than interacting together, they might be easily lazy to communicate with others in real life. Therefore, it is difficult for them to develop social skills, especially communication skills. Additionally, using social media might be straightforward for hackers to steal personal information of users. Indeed, people tend to post anything on social media like Facebook or Instagram just because they want to save memories and express their feelings. It is a chance for hackers or thieves to attack. Finally, using social media for a long time can cause psychological changes and health problems. To be honest, people become addicted to using social media the whole day. As a result, they get disconnected from their surroundings and their behaviors may be changed in negative ways. Besides, it can cause some diseases related to the eyes due to the fact that they spend much time on social media.

On the one hand, there are several positive reasons why people should use social media. One reason is that it is possible to keep in touch with a large number of people, share photos as well as make small talks with others from all over the world. It is perfect for people to get more information about the countries, the cultures or even the exchanging news. Another reason is that it is a chance for people to gather all family members. Our families and friends may be often scattered across the globe due to working or studying, for example. Thanks to the existence of social media, the whole family can easily communicate as well as share any problems together. However, in spite of the benefits of using social media, I strongly believe that the disadvantages outweigh the benefits.

In conclusion, there is no doubt that although social media is widely used, I consider that its drawbacks have influenced people’s lives in many ways. I firmly believe that the disadvantages in terms of lack of interaction, the issues of privacy information as well as some health problems outweigh the advantages.