The use of social media, such as Facebook, Twitter, are replacing face-to-face contact in this century. Do you think the advantages of this way outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, people have many methods and means to connect with each other. In particular, Facebook and Twitter are one of the social networking sites used by many young people. Consequently, there is a considerable concern for face to face interaction. From my perspective, I totally agree that the drawbacks of this trend overshadow its merits.

To begin with, it is true that the emergence of social networking websites and applications have revolutionized the way people contact one another. To be more specific, regardless of geographical distance, a person who only needs a smartphone connected to the internet can send messages or make use of video calls to keep in touch with their loved one, reducing the need for people to gather in one place for face to face conversations. In economic context, social media strongly promotes online sales activities. Take Amazon as an example, the company is very successful with online sales based on American social media habits, encouraged online shopping routines and generated a lot of profit.

However, going along with the benefits of social networking are its negative effects that we need to consider. The fact that many young people are addicted to Facebook, that means they spend too much time to access Facebook, sharing too much about their private life and issues on their personal page. Today, we can easily see the image of young people plugging their face into their phones to surf Facebook or selfies posted on twitter with tremendous frequency. They are confused between the real world and the virtual world, which brings bad impacts. Firstly, It will directly affect the health of people, especially eyesight. Excessive contact with phone or computer will cause vision loss, phone waves also have an adverse effect on the human brain and fertility. Another serious consequence is turning people into insensitive people. When they do not care about everything around them, they only pay attention to the number of likes and share of the illusion on social networks. The experiment involved two starved groups of people who frequently used social media apps and those who rarely used them. There was 35% of the people who constantly used social media apps refused to share their assistance food to others, but there was 80% of the people who rarely used social media apps agreed to share.

In conclusion, although social media has brought some benefits for society, the disadvantages of overusing such advanced technology to replace real-life communications are more much worrying.