Wild animals have no place in the 21st century, so protecting them is a waste of resources. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that it is pointless to protect wild animals since they play no role in the 21st century. I strongly disagree with this opinion and believe that part of government expenditure should be allocated to wildlife conservation for the sake of human existence on Earth.

Adherents to the idea that wild animals do not deserve government spending often base their argument on the following reason. Wild species and their habitats have no direct connection to human life. In other words, the extinction of any wild animals would exert impact on human beings, so protecting them is just a waste of money and time. Instead, they argue that public money should be spent on tackling pressing problems in modern society such as poverty, unemployment and poor health system for increase public well-being.

However, this reasoning is irrational to me since wild species are not only instrumental in maintain biodiversity nature, but also plays a vitally significant role in human life. Firstly, if any wild animal dies out, it will disrupt the whole food chain, resulting in the disappearance of other animals and plants. Subsequently, the delicate balance of the ecosystem would be disturbed, which would then lead to deleterious environmental consequences. Furthermore, conservation of natural habitat of wildlife species would contribute to the economic growth, especially in agricultural sector. This is because the majority of plant species, both growing naturally or being grown in artificial condition, is pollinated by bees- a wild animal. The extinction of bees would halt the reproduction of plants, thus lowering agricultural productivity. Such examples have proven how pivotal wild species is in the 21st century.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that wildlife conservation is of paramount importance and protecting wild animals is a must in modern life, not a waste of resources as many people think.