You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Some people feel that entertainers such as film stars, pop musicians or sports

stars are paid too much money.

Do you agree or disagree?

Which other types of job should be highly paid?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own

knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

In modern times, more and more money is earned by entertainers such as actors, singers, footballers, and basketballers etc. There are those who say that famous people who are from entertainment area earn huge amounts of money, however others believe that they earn what they deserve. In this essay, I will examine the both sides of the argument and provide my overall opinion.

Generally speaking, there are a wide range of reasons why people believe that performers earn more than they deserve. Perhaps, the main reason why people think like that is because poverty. Unlike in the past, people today need financial aid more and more. A good illustration of this is that thousands of people from South Africa die every year because of poverty. If they have strong economic conditions, they can live their lives just like they deserve. A further point in favour of this belief is that huge amount of money can be spent on society’s needs such as health services, education, and country’s security. As a result, society will be in a good social condition.

Despite these arguments, there is also a case for the idea that performers earn what they deserve. Firstly, they work really hard for their job and success. As a result, they have to use certain facilities to improve theirselves and they need money to do that. If they do not earn money which is the same amount with today, they will not be able to afford their needs such as training materials, studio items or basic materials. Secondly, almost all people in the world watch them in their leisure time. In fact, there is nobody to be watched instead of entertainers by millions of people. This is because colossal entertainment companies, football clubs or basketball clubs earn from advertisements and sponsorships much more than performers’ income. Normally, entertainers take their cut.

In conclusion, it must be said that the issue of entertiners’ earnings has become quite complex with no easy solutions. Having considered both sides of the issue, I believe that entertainers such as actors, singers or sportmans/sportwomans are paid too much money. In my opinion, they do not deserve as much as that amount of money. People who have jobs with high importance for society such as academics, doctors, nurses, lawyers deserve higher pay. If appropriate policies had been implemented by governments properly, there would have been equality about earnings between different sectors.