You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Present a written argument or case to an educated reader with no specialist knowledge of the following topic:

News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported?

You should write at least 250 words.

Use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

Editors are commonly stressful to determine the topic which will be published on the press. The shocking news are regularly more favored than the good ones. However, the job of editors is to carefully select which one is suitable for appearing in the news.

There are two conditions to make up their mind when choosing the broadcasted information. First is the character of the information. Usually, humans tend to be attracted to bad news over good ones. For example, readers will unintentionally pay more attention to an earthquake, a storm or a flood in order to survive. Imagine that ignoring the negative news like the oncoming hurricane is very more dangerous than ignoring the positive news like a dog recusing a boy trapped on a tree. Second is reader's curiosity. It is a human nature, hence people are likely to care about other people’s secrets, especially the celerity. As proof, rumors and spoilers of a singer which easily stimulate reader’s interest is frequently printed on the cover.

There is a debate whether they should present more negative news or positive bulletins should be prominant. Even though bad news is appealed more views, it is not always the center of the Earth. It does create some worry and gloomy sensation. So not all people desire to read or watch those unpleasant events. Instead of those mentioned above, happy ones should be concerned to broadcast by the journalists to balance the information for viewers. The nice stories will help people to be less pessimistic and realize that life does not only contain the crimes, the calamities and the terrors. There are still the bright things surrounding us, for instance, the achievements of environmentalists who are trying to keep the greening of our planet or the dedications of the singer, who is being criticized, contributed to the world.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that people appeal to the distressing information is totally the instinct of human beings. Nevertheless, the media team should weigh the pros and cons before reporting the bulletins to make people love each other and enjoy our life more without forgetting being warned by the sad news.