You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Present a written argument or case to an educated reader with no specialist knowledge of the following topic:

News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported?

You should write at least 250 words.

Use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

Media people are commonly stressful to determine the topic which will be televised and published on the press. Their decision depends on various elements. Analyzing these factors and distinct aspects of good news versus bad news conducts a clearer feature.

Their edition are affected by information creating immediately attentions of readers and audiences. In other words, the shocking news such as precautions of natural disasters, acts of terrorism or celebrity scandals regularly impress their mind. This is explained as a survival instinct when people unintentionally pay more attention to an earthquake, a storm as well as a shooting. In addition, curiosity is a human nature, hence we are likely to care about other people’s secrets, especially the famous people. As proof, rumors and spoilers of a singer which easily stimulate reader’s interest is frequently printed on the cover.

In fact, humans tend to be attracted to bad news over good news for the reason that negative information are mostly considered the shocking factors, as mentioning above. Nevertheless, it does not mean that people constantly desire to read or watch unpleasant events every time and everywhere, therefore the pleasant ones should be concerned by the journalists to present more to readers and viewers. The nice stories will help people to be less pessimistic and realize that life does not only contain the crimes, the calamities and the terrors. There are still the bright things surrounded us, such as achievements that environmentalists are trying to keep the greening of our planet or dedications that the singer who is being criticized contributed to the world and so on.

In conclusion, the true is that people appeal to the bad news is totally the instinct of human beings. In spite of that, to reduce the heavy burden of life, the media people should report increasingly the messages in order to make people love each other more and enjoy our life more.