Around the world, people are now living longer than ever before in the past. Some say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Others believe there are benefits to society having more elderly people.To what extent do the advantages of possessing an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

The life expectancy of people around the world has surged drastically in the past few years. Some say that increasing octogenarians may pose a burden on governments while others think it would benefit the society. I believe this population raise can have both positive and negative outcomes depending on several factors, and in this essay I will explore these two aspects.

Certainly, when the elderly are around, there can be many benefits for the community. One key positive outcome is their influence on young children. Their life long experiences are very helpful in dealing with children. Another point to mention is that they are well versed with cultural knowledge and can instill the same wisdom is their progeny. For instance, in countries like India with an eclectic culture, elderly in the house plays a very important role when it comes to performing any ritual or providing insight regarding such customs. However, sometimes taking care of them can disrupt the finances of a household and this can be burgeoning. Medication alone costs a fortune, in certain cases, and these financial constraints may further hamper the future of the children of the family.

There are, however, legitimate concerns when it comes to the responsibilities that the government has to take up. Firstly, the medical facilities and old-age homes will become rampant. As a result, state officials will have to channel their funds in maintaining these caregiving institutes rather that spending on other beneficial projects. Secondly, there will be an imbalance in government reserves. This is because of the one-sided influx of income due to relative reduction in earning group and consequently decreasing tax payers. Taking example of European countries, where the economy has disrupted due to fewer young people and so they are developing programs to attract immigrants to take up jobs in their country.

In conclusion, I believe that although there are various pros of having old people around, the cons cannot be overlooked. Not only for government, but also for family their existence can create problems which are hard to deal with in the long run.