Some people think traditional games are better than modern games in helping
children develop their abilities. To what extent do you agree?
In the contemporary world, it is a common belief that traditional games are better than
modern games in helping children cultivate their abilities. I find this view unconvincing due to
the following reasons.
Modern games actually foster more specific skills that are required in this day and age.
First and foremost, modern games are characterised by electronic devices, which means
the skills to use digital devices adeptly can be trained via playing modern games. It seems to
me that modern technologies have fundamentally changed our life. Therefore, mastering
these technologies is an absolute necessity. The second reason is modern games nurture
team spirit and the ability to cooperate with others. This is true in that being able to
collaborate with others is a key skill in any organisation. The final reason is familiarity with
modern games can probably lead to careers in animation or video-game design because video
games have become a popular industry. It is apparent that mastering this skill increases young
people’s employment opportunities.
I would acknowledge that traditional games such as chess can help youngsters to
develop independent thinking skills. This argument has considerable merit in that
competitive strategies are also significant in this world. Having said this, nevertheless, the
ability to think independently can also be cultivated in other ways such as reading. Based on
this analysis, apparently, modern games provide more benefits for children.