Being a celebrity- Such as famous film star or sports personality – brings problems as well as benefits

Do you think that being a celebrity brings more benefits or more problems?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

It is an established fact renowned personality such as sports or movie stars enjoy life full of glamour, adventure and fame but their personal lives remain vulnerable to public introspection and criticism. In my opinion, I believe that being a public figure has number of merits but it also brings some demerits to a person’s family life.

Firstly, being a celebrity is not less than an honor as it gives one privilege to enter into the pool of world’s most powerful people. Celebrities have huge fan following which makes them strong enough to influence plethora of their followers’ worldwide. For Instance, Imran Khan was a famous cricketer back in 1990’s and helped Pakistan in securing world cup 1992 it was the fame he accumulated being a sports personality that today people of Pakistan have made him President of the state. But Imran's personal life has always been under radar especially political opponents have exploited to tarnish his reputation. Additionally, expensive brands such as Zara, Nike, MC, CK and many others prefer to sign famous people as their brand ambassadors due to their influential personalities. As a result, they receive large sums of remunerations, perks and privileges for only associating brands with their name. For example, Katrina Kaif a Bollywood actor remained brand ambassador for VEET cream for almost five years, this helped brand reaping millions of rupees in sales.

On the other hand, celebrities are always on the verge of being exploited one such example is the case of famous Pakistani cricketer Muhammad Saeed who was convicted of ball tempering case and was banned for 3 years from both locally and international cricket. Such defamation cost them greatly sometimes through public criticism, court trials, ban, or imprisonment along with huge financial blow.

To sum it up, a celebrity should remember that he was once a common man and should not disappoint millions of people his followers. They should keep their dignity and integrity intact at all times and never indulges into suspicious activities or acts that are against the norms of a civilized society.