Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Job seekers these days are occasionally being asked to furbish personal data such as their leisure activities, preferences, marital status and interests. Few people are of the opinion that extracting such information could be beneficial on the contrary some people do not agree with it. In this essay, I will succinctly discuss both point of views and will present my opinion.

On one hand, advocates of human resource believe that, private information about one’s medical conditions, marital status, preferences, or interests helps companies in facilitating its employees in the short and long-run. For instance, group insurance policy of a company covers majority of the medical related needs of its employees and their families. If employees will not disclose private information such as marital status; in case of adversity his family will not be protected under company insurance plan. Moreover, employee’s hobbies, interest or preferences are an important part of a psychometric testing that helps recruiters in deciding right department or training course for fresh hires. Another example is armed forces where an applicant is required by law to disclose all his/her personal information as this helps psychologists in armed forces to better analyze and understand applicant’s personality. For instance, a person who is more interested in video games and less interested in outdoor activities is less-likely to get a job in armed forces.

On the contrary, few people disagree with this notion they think that, it is a violation of basic human rights, because a person’s ability can be verified by his educational and professional background and not by his private information. They believe that, such sensitive information if leaked by the co-worked could cost someone’s his job or entire career. Another example is, majority of telesales companies obtain customer’s data in the form of “sales lead” from shabby recruitment companies such unsolicited calls cause mental and physical stress to people.

In my opinion, I believe that private data such as number of siblings, marital status, interests or hobbies is important for employers if used in the well-being of employees. It is important to understand that data privacy is an important issue in today’s world and should be protected under law. Proper legislation is required to force institutions whether state or private to abide by the data protection laws and strict penalties should be imposed in-case of violation.

In conclusion, companies should take a great care while dealing with employees private data and make sure data is effectively used in the welfare of its people and proper confidentiality should be maintained.