In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with

other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes

the government has to pay for this care.

Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

Elder people possess myriad of wisdom that they have attained through their innumerable life experiences. Therefore, it becomes quintessential to take care of them, so that the present and the future generation can take advantage of their wisdom. However, the question arises should the government or the family be held responsible for bearing the responsibility of elderly people?

I strongly believe that government should cater to the necessities of senile people. My opinion is supported by innumerable reasons. Firstly, due to reduced physical strength and stamina as a result of their age, they are unable to earn livelihood to fund themselves but when they were young, they were taxpaying citizens and indubitably contributed towards the economy of their country thereby deserving to be taken care of in their old age. Moreover, there are many families in Britain who are either single parents raising their children or struggling hard to make ends meet, making it impossible for them to contribute towards their parents' expenses.

Apart from the above mentioned pointers, there are a few other reasons that substantiate my way of thinking. Primarily, the full time support and proper attention that nurses and care takers can offer at old-age houses is incomparable to the family members due the fact that office work comprises most of their time and they possess no energy after their over packed schedule. Furthermore, it has been reported in the New York Times Daily that older people sustain a healthier mind when accompanied by their age group members which proves lucrative for their overall health than being with their aloof family members.

To encapsulate, my presented points irrefutably justifies my belief that government can undoubtedly look after the senior citizens of their country and family members should not be burdened with this expense.