In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with

other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes

the government has to pay for this care.

Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from

your own knowledge or experience.

It is often said that when people become old they decide to spend their time in the old age house where the expenses of senior citizens and nurses are being borne by the government. I strongly believe that the expenses ought to be incurred by the government mainly for the old people of the nation.

First of all, with the rising inflation in the economy, it has become extremely difficult of the old people to fulfill their daily needs of the life. In addition to this, the pension especially received by the retired government officials looks such a mere amount which often left them with no money after first half of the month. As a result, this leads them to cut down their budget on the quantity of nutritious food from their diet schedule.

Secondly, Medicines has become way too expensive for old people in our country because of the import duty and the unavailability of resources to produce the drug in the home country. For example, a recent report released by the health department of India states that prices of medicines have gone up by 10 % as compared to the last year(2016).

However, Family members can support the senior citizens by showing love, care and empathy for them. They can make the journey of old people soothing and comfortable by facilitating regular income to them on a monthly basis.

To conclude, It seems fair enough to me that it is the responsibility of the government to take care of the citizens especially in their old age.