Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past 30 years in the world that many cities now are one big traffic jam Do you think that this statement is true What measure can government take to address this problem

In the last three decades, an unprecedented rise in car ownership has been observed in several cities around the world. That is consequently accruing traffic congestion. This is certainly a major concern of the present time, however, there is a number of a possible solution that should be taken under consideration to mitigate the use of the personal car.

To start with, there are various reasons behind the growing number of private cars in the cities all around the world, perhaps commuting is the most obvious reason, masses are buying it to move to efficiently inside the city for numerous purposes such as to visit their workplace, for shopping etc. Secondly, nowadays a new trend is running in the society that having a car means better recognition in the society, in addition, nowadays car companies are providing equated monthly instalment based purchase which helping buyers to purchase more cars because customers pay in instalments that do not put more burden on them. Lastly, dissatisfaction with public transport service is leading them to purchase more personal cars, for example, a car manufacturing company Toyota had conducted a survey where they asked customers to reasons behind buying cars, nearly 56% of customers blamed inefficient and inconvenient public transport service has led them to private cars.

On the other hand, there are various ways by which authorities can curb this problem such as by providing improved public transport. The government has to make improvements in public transport service such as more spacious seats as well as more focus on internal cleaning of the bus this would surely lure people to use them for commuting. Furthermore, legislation ought to make separate cycling path which will not only encourage people to use their cycles for commuting but also diminish the congestion as well as pollution from the cities, to exemplify, a Chandigarh news agency the tribune had published since the cycling paths have been built the traffic problem has been considerably decreased as well as the air quality is far better than in past few years.

In conclusion, the growing number of the car has become a colossal problem for the various cities of the world, however, there are few measures such as improvement in public transports service and usage of the cycle for commuting can diminish traffic congestion.