Computer games are very popular in all age groups and nationalities. Parents think it has little educational value and harmful effects.

What is your opinion about this?

Give examples based on your own experience.

With the advent of technology and devices based on it, gaming today has become a well groomed part of every individual across the world. But in case of children, it is thought by parents that it contributes less in gaining knowledge and more towards ruining their child. In my opinion, yes, I believe that gaming can lead to severe mental and physical illness. Also, its after effects can be dangerous. But with proper control and measures, it can help in mental development of a child.

To start with, computer games can not only cause side effects to a person’s brain but it may also hamper physical health and can lead them to dangers, knowingly or unknowingly. These games are generally addictive, because of which players are no longer interested in doing anything else. The prolonged gaming sessions which they indulge into, causes severe eye burning and sometimes leads to mental exertion. Consequently, it makes them obese and affects their circular system. In some cases, they have even proven to be deadly. To illustrate, Players Under battle Ground (PUBG), an online gaming platform has had hazardous impact on a youngster when he had a heart attack while playing the game, as a result of not able to complete the mission. Eventually, he died, leaving a question in front of society that should these games be allowed to continue or is it better to ban them.

Coming to the positive part, the immense benefit of practical gaming is crucial for a person’s mental development in today’s competitive environment. If controlled and monitored, these games can play a vital role in developing cognitive abilities within a child at a very young age. In other words, it enables them to learn things in a practical manner and it opens their mind with influx of data, which they may not grasp through books. This in turn, makes them smarter than the rest of their competitors and helps in logical explanation of things. To exemplify, a recent research by Oxford University in a local government school revealed that pupils who were allowed to play computer games had better results in mathematics quiz when compared to those who were not allowed or had little interest in playing them.

To conclude, the gaming industry has been a pain from parent’s point of view as they perceive it to cause a deteriorating effect on their child’s health. But, with correct measures these games can do wonders for their child. We need to understand that gaming is meant to be fun and should be allowed by guardians as a leisure activity for their offspring as it helps to increase their mental capabilities and prepare them for their future in more meaningful way.