Computers are being used more and more in education. Some people say that this is a positive trend, while others argue that it is leading to negative consequences.

Discuss both sides of this argument and then give your own opinion.

From the last decade, computers are playing a vital role in the education sector. It has become the topic of debate where some people are taking this as a positive trend, while others are opposing it. Although, using computers has some detrimental effects on health, I am of the opinion that its usage is more advantageous than the demerits.

To begin with, excessive usage of these machines have some negative ramifications on the user’s health. In other words, sitting for long hours in front of the glaring screen directly affects the eyes of the viewer, who may suffer from eye-sight diseases. Moreover, some users even became the victims of back-pain because of constant sitting. Other than this, heavy reliance on these digital machines have raised the queries about the content validity. Put differently, computer is a source of immense data, but not every information available on it is authentic. For example, there are certain theories accessible on internet claiming Apollo-11 mission of Neil Armstrong’s landing on moon as a hoax, but none of these assumptions are well grounded.

On the contrary, there are various reasons for considering the use of computers in education as positive approach. Firstly, students not only learns the hypothetical knowledge of various subjects, in fact they get a practical understanding of certain topics with the help of videos and graphics, available on these electronic devices. For example, when students were asked during the survey of Huffington Post, 80% of them claimed that they redo the class theory topics again on computers to understand it pragmatically. Secondly, with the help of internet and computers, learners get more than one perception of understanding the subjects. To cite an instance, there are multiple ways available on internet to understand the algorithms of computer science, which scholars finds easier than theories on books. Lastly, computers have introduced the option of studies for those, who lives far away from school or universities. Udemy and Coursera are such examples of online study websites available for everyone and are now proliferating.

To sum up, there are some negatives consequences of computers in studies with respect to authenticity of information and health. But, I believe, if use wisely and ergonomically, it has given more exposure to the on-campus and off-campus students in terms of providing various pragmatic approaches for solving their study problems.