Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

With the advent of internet and eCommerce, every nation has become similar, as we are able to buy anything and everything across the globe. In my opinion, there are myriad of positive developments, but, never lose the uniqueness of a country, namely, culture and ethnicity.

On the one hand, advancement of the internet over the years have been skyrocketing and has witnessed expansion of trading in every nook and corner of the world. Furthermore, increase in transportation methods, eases shipping and is cost effective, enabling retailers witness profit thereby increasing sales. For example, we get all the spices, vegetables, and fruits from a native country across miles and feels like home. We get to eat an authentic dish at a restaurant, without compromising the native taste. Moreover, technology has also brought in, lots of knowledge spread across with respect to spread of information relating to smart living with a healthy lifestyle. Another example, moringa leaves are in trend all over, due to its medicinal values, although, it is one of the common ingredients in making curries in India.

On the other hand, getting anything at any place has serious shortcomings, as the local market loses to the global ones. To illustrate, the westernization in terms of clothing has slowly led to closure of many hand looms in India, namely the silk sarees, cotton dhoti’s have fallen in great numbers, because draping them is tedious than to wear a shirt and pant instead . Consequently, we are losing the traditional costumes to the western ones, even though, people wear them during special occasions and festivals only.

In conclusion, never should an advancement hamper the values of a country in terms of culture and tradition. Hence, by appreciating the merits the technology has brought in, we should also consider the demerits and not allow them damage the local market.