In countries where unemployment is high, education should only be obligatory up to primary school and not secondary school. To what extend do you agree or disagree.

The increasing level of unemployment has become a major reason of concern for governments across the world. The compelling need to address this global problem has some pundits claim that in countries with high rate of unemployment, education should be obligatory till primary level only. I strongly disagree with this and following essay will elaborate on reasons for this disapproval; followed by suggestions that are more reasonable.

To begin with, education and employment has direct relationship with each other. While, agriculture sector was the major source of employment before, the focus has now shifted to service sector, that requires educated and skilled labor. While world is moving towards technological advances, it has become all more important to bridge the gap between skills demand and supply. Education, being the prerogative of the government demands more attention than ever before. Therefore, the focus should be placed on primary and secondary education system to increase employability of the population. In addition to this, attention should also be placed on imparting vocational education with the help of NGOs and Private-Public partnership.

Moreover, the rate of unemployment also depends on governments economic policies, bad decisions can cause economy to peter out. While the jittering state of economy may be temporary, the effect of investment in education would always yield results as the educated youths are the assets to the society and instrument for change. Furthermore, any effort to reduce the quality of education would have long lasting effect on economy along with the population that would be mediocre and incompetent.

To conclude, I would say that let education become a tool to fight all the modern maladies. The focus of the state should be to provide a conducive environment to young minds to grow and prosper while bringing up the policies that generates more avenues of employment.