Demand for food is increasing worldwide. What is the cause of this? What measures can

the international community take to meet this demand?

In recent years there is a massive surge in the food industry globally. Restaurants and hotels are mushrooming around every corner of the city. There are certain factors associated with this rise in demand for food and the reason for this will be described in below paragraphs along with the solutions to cope up with the situation.

The internet has provided a platform for a cultural amalgamation. This bonding among cultures facilitates mixing of cuisines too. Many restaurants and eateries, to stay in business, do food experimenting which sometimes backfires and leads to food wastage. These types of businesses should be discouraged by the government by rejecting their proposals or levying heavy taxes on such establishments.

The increase in the population is also a crucial factor to consider. With human beings multiplying in billions within a span of few years, it is becoming difficult to supply food, with the fixed land available for farming and cultivation. Also, the lavish lifestyle of rich people has made it difficult for poorer to afford food. For instance, a girl buying a burger, throws it away, after taking a bite because she didn’t like its taste; is an example of food wastage and low value of money. Instead of wasting an eatable item, it would be thoughtful to donate it to needy.

The international community also plays an important role in this demand and supply chain. A perfect balance between import and export of commodities across the world will ensure proper distribution of food around the globe.

All in all, it is evident that food shortage is a problem in today’s modern world but, it is not something that cannot be handled. Awareness among people and government regarding judicious usage of food will be helpful to tackle such problems.