The development of tourism contributes to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally

What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

English is widely used spoken language across the globe as a result of increasing tourism, therefore, it is argued by some people that English would be the only spoken language in the world. The essay will first discuss the principal advantage of simplified communication and then mention the disadvantage of losing cultural identities as a result of this.

To begin with, the communication problems in the world would be solved if everyone speaks one language. At present, language is the biggest barrier which restricts people from education, business expansion, and sharing knowledge. If everyone spoke the same language then people will have advantage to pursue the best education in another country or to expand local business to international level. As a result, growing trade between nations and availability of skilled workforce would boost world economy. Moreover, multinational people would unite is a stronger ways as having only one language to communicate would enable them to share ideas and knowledge easily, this would make them more companionable and welcoming.

On the other hand, a language is not just set of words and means of communication, in fact, it is a unique for the specific culture. Language has evolved over thousands of years to establish its identity, therefore, many countries are still named after the languages that are commonly practiced. For instance, a country of French-speaking people is France. Language has enabled to preserve the rich history and traditions of people from difference races and religion. It would be disrespectful and unfair to consider people giving up native languages to simplify global communication.

In conclusion, English has become extremely popular language because of growth in tourism, if it becomes the only language to communicate then world economy will have healthy benefits whereas dying of other languages may adversely affect other cultures.