Directors and managers of organizations are often older people. Some people say that it is better for younger people to be leaders. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Usually, the heads of corporations are elderly people. Many believe that this should change, therefore young people should take higher positions. In my opinion, senior people should continue to head various departments due to the various reasons outlined in this essay.

Old people bring with them rich experience in various fields as compared to the young generation. Which is vital for one who is on a decision-making post. For instance, in the engineering field, one learns a lot of new things in a daily routine and a fresher is appointed the chief engineer of the department he will eventually make wrong decisions because of lack of experience.

Not only that, senior members are calmer and composed as compare to their young counterparts and hence they will not decide hurriedly on important matters. That is why various firms hire retired personnel to run the company. For example, Kirloskar one of the pioneer in electric generators has recently appointed Retired Army chief as its chief executive officer.

The elder people have more sense of responsibility, as they are running their household for many years. In contrast, youngsters lack a sense of responsibility which is very essential when someone is on a decision-making post. Lastly, people listen to senior members of society and care for their views which also tits the balance in favor of them.

In conclusion, young people should be given time to inherit the needed skills so that when the time comes they would not struggle while making difficult decisions. Therefore, the services of our retirees are essential and the country desperately needs them.