Education, from preschool through university, should be paid for by the government and therefore free to students.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, some countries have made education non-chargeable irrespective of the level of education. I completely support this trend for the benefits of society and its citizens'.

Looking firstly one of the important benefits of this trend for the society, universities equip our workforce with doctors, engineers and other important professionals that enable the society to prosper and develop. A Country without these professionals is a country that is not able to create, maintain and thus prosper. By making education free of charge, the number of student enrollments will increase and thus we will get more professionals. Conversely, if we have to pay a hefty amount as an institute fee will deter people to apply for the courses of their interest and consequent in shortage of these crucial professionals in the society. Besides the supply of important professionals, this will also act as a deterrent to crime. It has proved that unemployment and illiteracy are the catalysts for the spike in the crime rate. By educating more people results in generating new employment opportunities and thus result in lowering down the crime rate.

Education enables and broadens the person's horizon. In this era of proliferation of technology, a person can apply for jobs anywhere in the world. Reports have also proved that the outlook and interpretation of things changes with the level of education the person has. In contrast, if it is not affordable for a person, he might not be able to make the best out of all available opportunity.

In conclusion, education plays a significant role in developing a nation as well as improving individual personality. In my opinion, by making it free we can attract much more people towards it for getting the maximum advantage out of the opportunities.