Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Whether companies should solicit private information from candidates during the recruitment process or not is a contentious issue. Despite the fact that there are obvious advantages to not collecting those data, I believe that the benefits far outweigh its disadvantages. In this essay, I will provide my opinions.

On the bright side, collecting more background information from potential employees allows employers to select the right candidates for the job / candidates who fit the job profile perfectly. Companies can gauge the suitability of their prospective employees through data such as their specific hobbies and interests. For instance, if there is a job position which requires meeting new colleagues and travelling abroad frequently, an applicant who is interested in socializing and traveling would be deemed a better fit for the vacancy than those who are fond of reading and listening to music. Furthermore, certain information enables employers to provide a safe working environment for all workers. To illustrate, collecting information such as previous criminal record is essential for the human resource manager to determine whether the potential employee will pose a threat to the company or not.

On the flip side, some applicants may show hesitation if they are required to fill in more information beyond educational background and working experience. Consequently, companies may lose some workers with great potentials. Furthermore, fake information can be provided to the employers because some candidates may want to impress their potential interviewees. The unreliable data is therefore useless to the employment selection process.

To conclude, although there are downsides to asking for further information from those who are looking for jobs, I support the claim that employers should obtain more personal data from the job seekers because this is important to the safety of the company and enable) them to choose the best employee from among hundreds of applicants.