Famous people sometimes give their opinions on public topics. Is this a good thing? To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Celebrities often convey their opinions on general topics. Sometimes it is not good for the public. However, in my opinion, when celebrities talk about common issues, they help create awareness among the public and it is largely good.

To begin with, due to their popularity famous persons’ opinions reach the audience quickly. In addition, celebrities have mass appeal. Thus it is good when they voice their opinions because it helps the issue reach more people. In addition to that many people, especially youngsters, blindly trust their role models and pay attention to them and follow their way. Because of this reason when celebrities talk about social issues, they help mobilize public support. In a developing country like India where more than half of the population constitutes youngsters, the opinions of celebrities have huge impact.

However, discussing public issues is not the job of a celebrity and oftentimes they are not qualified to do so. Also, it is better if well-known people keep their mouth shut on controversial topics that might instigate violence in the society. For example, if an actor gives an opinion in favour of his religion, it can upset followers of other religions. In the worst case scenario, this might even lead to violence. Therefore, famous people should consider public interest when they give their opinions.

In conclusion, although giving opinion on general topic is not the job of a celebrity, I believe that they should express their views in order to create awareness.