Food travels thousands of miles from producers to consumers. Some people think that it would be better for the environment and economy if people ate only the local food produced by farmers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In modern days, supermarkets are stocked with imported food goods, and it is believed that people should consume locally produced food as it would have positive repercussions on the environment as well as the economy. I partially agree with this notion.

On the one hand, by transporting regionally cultivated food products to other nations, the local farmers are being benefited financially as their consumable merchandises are getting sold in a foreign currency in a way higher price in comparison to the local markets. Further, this trend has also contributed towards the nation's economy. Moreover, there are numerous food alternatives from multiple nations accessible for the people, and an individual can have a way to a diversity of fruits and vegetables, which were never achievable in the past. The dragon fruit is an excellent illustration of this advancement as people in India have never even heard about this unique fruit earlier. However, now it has a place in nearly every neighbourhood shop and market.

On the other hand, undoubtedly, transporting food commodities from one nation to another has detrimental consequences on the environment as it involves the use of multiple types of transportation facilities such as air, water and road, which has not only intensified the product's price for consumers but also escalated the level of carbon dioxide into the atmosphere due to massive utilization of vehicles that emit toxic fumes into the air. Furthermore, this inclination has also influenced local people to consume foreign cuisines, and in many cases, they tend to eat foreign cuisines more than their traditional food, which is not a good practice for any nation's culture and traditional values.

In conclusion, while i agree that the global business of food products has financial perks for the local growers and also benefits for the people as it opens the gate for several food categories, it is steadily degrading the climate health as well as such food commodities are not pocket-friendly.