Food travels thousands of miles from producers to consumers. Some people think that it would be better for the environment and economy if people ate only the local food produce by farmers.

To what extend do you agree or disagree

Food is on a long trip from a farm in different country or city to our home. It not only consumes a huge financial resources but also can be harmful environmentally. In my point of view, supporting local products can be beneficial for our health and society.

From an economic point of view, using non-local foods means spending a lot of money for transportation, conservation and storage. While supporting farmers mean using pristine food which is not only affordable economically but also is useful in terms of nutrition because protection food for a long trip needs some chemicals which is not suitable for health. Secondly, supporting rural jobs like agriculture and animal husbandry can decrease the rate of immigration from village to city which impose high pressure to economic and structure of a country. Moreover, export of domestic products raise the economic level of society and make country independent from other governments.

From an environmental perspective, the reduction of cultivating rate is equal to increase the desertification which can affect the fauna and flora of an area. Plus, desertification can enhance the flood and sand storm risk. However, we should not forget the proper principles of agriculture which not only guarantee the quality of soil and final products but also protect the natural resources like water.

To wrap it up, consumption of local food products can decrease the distance between farm and home which is effective financially and environmentally.