Food travels thousands of miles from producers to consumers. Some people think that it would be better for the environment and economy if people ate only the local food produced by farmers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In modern days, supermarkets are stocked with imported food products, and it is believed that people should consume locally produced food as it would have positive repercussions on the environment as well as the economy. I partially agree with this notion.

On the one hand, by exporting locally cultivated food products globally, the local farmers are being benefited financially as their consumable merchandises are getting sold in a foreign currency in a way higher price in comparison to the local markets. Further, this trend has also contributed towards the nation's economy. Moreover, there are numerous food options from various nations available for the people, and an individual can have access to the variety of fruits and vegetables, which were never possible in the past. The dragon fruit is an ideal example of this advancement as people in India have never even heard about this special fruit earlier. However, now it has a place in almost every local shop and market.

On the other hand, undoubtedly, transporting food commodities from one nation to another has detrimental impacts on the environment as it involves the use of myriad transportation facilities such as air, water and road, which not only escalated the product's price for consumers but also increases the level of carbon dioxide into the atmosphere due to massive utilization of vehicles that emit toxic fumes into the air. Furthermore, this trend has also influenced local people to consume foreign cuisines, and in many cases, they tend to consume foreign cuisines more than their traditional food, which is not a good practice for any nation's culture and traditional values.

In conclusion, while i agree that the global transaction of food products has financial perks for the local farmers and also benefits for the people as it opens the gate for several food varieties, it is steadily degrading the environment condition as well as such products are not pocket-friendly.